Fairford owes its origins to its situation, on a lovely stretch of the River Coln. Along the Coln are delightful walks in quiet countryside.
The High Street and Market Place boast many fine houses of the 17th and 18th centuries, and Fairford was also an important coaching town on the old London to Gloucester route - inns and hotels still located there are reminders.
For a map of Fairford and to get directions please see:
St Mary’s church
The town’s great glory is the parish church of St Mary’s, in magnificent late perpendicular style and one of the Cotswold’s finest wool churches. The endowments of wool merchants John and Edmund Tame made this possible. Much of the church was built between 1490-1530.
World famous is the remarkably complete set of 28 medieval stained glass windows, illustrating the Christian faith as in a picture book. Recent restoration has enlivened them even more. The church also contains a fascinating set of carved misericords beneath the choir stalls – pick out your favourite face!