Please remember to recycle during the festive break

Release date: 15 December 2017

Cotswold District Council is asking residents to maintain their excellent recycling record during the Christmas/New Year period.

Cllr Sue Coakley, CDC’s Cabinet Member for Environment and Chair of the Gloucestershire Joint Waste Committee, hopes that good recycling habits will still prevail over the next few weeks:

“Apparently, over four million Christmas dinners are thrown away by British households at a staggering cost of over £60m.  We can all do our bit to avoid food being wasted – just cutting down on the amount of food purchased and then reusing or recycling leftovers can make a huge difference and save you money at this expensive time of year. The ‘Love Food hate Waste’ campaign has a wide variety of recipes to use leftover food on its website -  

“Presents also generate mountains of waste packaging so please remember that cardboard can be recycled at the kerbside provided it is broken down and placed in the blue reusable bag.  Please also choose recyclable wrapping paper which is often cheaper than the glossy non-recyclable variety.  Mixed plastics can be placed in the white reusable sack and glass bottles are always easy to recycle – just pop them in the recycling bin box and present them on your collection day. Your local bring bank or Household Recycling Centre can also accept a wide variety of items for recycling.”

“We realise that people tend to buy more food, drink, packaged goods and other items at this time of year – and that is why the Council allows residents to leave bagged extra waste at the side of their refuse bin when the crews do their first collection after the holidays. However, the priority should still be to recycle as much as possible.”

Christmas Tree Recycling

Residents who subscribe to the Council’s green waste recycling service will be able to recycle their real Christmas trees by placing them in their green bin. Please ensure that the tree is broken into manageable lengths so that the lid of the bin can be fully closed.

Alternatively, your real Christmas tree can be shredded and composted provided it is taken to Batsford Garden Centre in Moreton-in-Marsh (GL56 9QB), Dobbies Garden Centre near Cirencester (GL7 6EU, or Wyevale Garden Centre in Lechlade (GL7 3DP). All these garden centres will accept trees for recycling from Tuesday 2 January until Sunday 14 January. 

CDC Christmas Waste Collection Schedules

The collection days will change as follows: (please note that crews will be working on three Saturdays - 30 December, 6 January and 13 January – to catch up.)   

Week commencing Monday 18 December 2017:

Normal collection day

New revised collection day

Mon 18 Dec 2017

No change

Tues 19 Dec

No change

Weds 20 Dec 

No change

Thurs 21 Dec

No change

Friday 22 Dec

No change

Mon 25 Dec

Will move to Weds 27 Dec

Tues 26 Dec

Will move to Thurs 28 Dec

Weds 27 Dec

Will move to Friday 29 Dec

Thurs 28 Dec

Will move to Saturday 30 Dec

Friday 29 Dec

Will move to Tues 2 Jan 2017

Mon 1 Jan 2018

Will move to Weds 3 Jan

Tues 2 Jan

Will move to Thurs 4 Jan

Weds 3 Jan

Will move to Friday 5 Jan

Thurs 4 Jan

Will move to Saturday 6 Jan

Friday 5 Jan

Will move to Mon 8 Jan

Mon 8 Jan

Will move to Tues 9 Jan

Tues 9 Jan

Will move to Weds 10 Jan

Weds 10 Jan

Will move to Thurs 11 Jan

Thurs 11 Jan

Will move to Friday 12 Jan

Friday 12 Jan

Will move to Saturday 13 Jan


The collection schedule will return to normal on the week beginning Monday 15 January 2018.

More information about how to reduce food waste this Christmas can be found at:



Cotswold District Council
Trinity Road